Here at Schedulicity, we wanted to give you full control over when you want to allow clients to book with you online, so we've created several options, which are all available to customize under your policies. Whether you need to update your cancellation or refund policies or adjust how far in advance clients can book, we've got you covered 😎

Jump to a section in this article:


General Policies

General Policies affect the entirety of your business with Schedulicity. To adjust these policies:

  1. Go to Settings and select the "Policies" tile

  2. Choose General Policies

  3. Edit your policy and hit save!

What policies are available to update here? Check it out 👇

Reliability Rating

All clients have a Reliability Rating. If clients are marked as a no-show, this rating goes down. New clients start with a 5-star rating. This setting specifies the lowest rating a client may have and still be allowed to schedule with your business.

Client Email Reminders

This setting allows you to adjust how many hours before an appointment your clients will receive their reminder email.

New Client Policy

This setting allows you to restrict bookings from clients who have never scheduled with you before. You can choose to allow new clients to book online, require new clients to successfully show up for their first appointment before booking any other appointments, allow new clients to enter a credit card when booking online, or fully disable online booking for new clients.

Client Text Reminders

If your account has client text message reminders enabled, this setting adjusts how many hours before their appointment clients will receive their text reminder.


Appointment Policies

These are policies specific to service appointment bookings. To update those:

  1. Go to Settings and select the "Policies" tile

  2. Choose Appointment Policies

  3. Edit your policy and hit save!

The policies available to update in this area is:

Client Scheduling Policy

This setting specifies how far in advance a client can book. For example: "A client may book no further in advance than 60 days from today."

Travel Time

If you offer outcall (traveling or mobile) services, this specifies how much travel time will be added to the beginning of each out-call service.

Client Lead Time

This is the sister setting of the Client Scheduling Policy, letting you set how soon clients can book. In other words, how much notice do you need before an appointment? For example: "A client may book no sooner than 3 hours before the start time of their appointment."

Calendar Interval

This allows you to specify whether you'd like to allow appointments on the 5/10 of the hour (10:00, 10:05, 10:10, 10:15, 10:20, etc.) or whether you'd like to allow appointments only on the 15 of the hour (10:00, 10:15, 10:30, 10:45, etc.).

Cancellation Policy

This specifies how close to an appointment start time a client is able to cancel their appointment online. Clients will be informed of the policy you set on the final booking page when booking online as well as in the confirmation and reminders emails that they receive.

Once your cancellation policy is set, if a client attempts to cancel online in violation of that policy, they will receive a message informing them of your policy and will be prompted to call.

Keep in mind: If there are any prepayment requirements on your offerings, like a deposit or full prepay at time of booking, a client will not be able to cancel online at any point. This is because the system does not automatically refund any payments. Instead, we leave that up to our businesses. If this is the case, your client would be prompted to call to cancel which would give you the opportunity to decide to process a refund, or keep the charge, depending on your policies.

Multiple Service Scheduling

Here, you can specify how many different services a single client can book for one visit to your business. (Haircut, Partial Highlight, and Brow Tint would be 3, for example).

Service Waitlist

Enable or disable the service waitlist settings. Learn all about the service waitlist here!

Service Waivers

Create or edit a waiver that clients will need to view and acknowledge prior to booking. Check out more details here.


Class/Workshop Policies

These are policies specific to class or workshop bookings. To update those:

  1. Go to Settings and select the "Policies" tile

  2. Choose either Class Policies or Workshop Policies

  3. Edit your policy and hit save!

The policies available to update in these areas are:

Client Scheduling Policy

This setting specifies how far in advance a client can book. For example: "A client may book no further in advance than 60 days from today."

Client Lead Time

This is the sister setting of the Client Scheduling Policy, letting you set how soon clients can book. In other words, how much notice do you need before an appointment? For example: "A client may book no sooner than 3 hours before the start time of their appointment."

Cancellation Policy

This specifies how close to the class/workshop start time a client is able to cancel their appointment online. Clients will be informed of the policy you set on the final booking page when booking online as well as in the confirmation and reminders emails that they receive.

Once your cancellation policy is set, if a client attempts to cancel online in violation of that policy, they will receive a message informing them of your policy and will be prompted to call.

Keep in mind: If there are any prepayment requirements on your offerings, like a deposit or full prepay at time of booking, a client will not be able to cancel online at any point. This is because the system does not automatically refund any payments. Instead, we leave that up to our businesses. If this is the case, your client would be prompted to call to cancel which would give you the opportunity to decide to process a refund, or keep the charge, depending on your policies.

Group Booking for classes

Available for classes only, opt to have clients be able to book a class for themselves and other.

Class or Workshop Waivers

Create or edit a waiver that clients will need to view and acknowledge prior to booking. Check out more details here.

Customize Label

This is located under the "Workshop Policies" only and determines how you refer to a grouped session for your Schedulicity account. This will adjust the title you use when referring to your workshops throughout your entire account. The options available include workshop, event, series, bootcamp, seminar, day camp, session, clinic, course, training, tour, and support group.


Email Policies

Email policies determine some of the client notification email settings within the system. To update those:

  1. From Settings, click on the "Policies" tile

  2. Select the "Email Policies" tile

  3. Enter or update your specific policies and save your changes!

Reply-To Email Address

This is the email address that client messages are redirected to when clients respond to an email marketing message or client notification.

This defaults to the business admin email and must be a valid email address.

Custom Message for Email Notifications

You have the option of adding a customized message to your client confirmation and reminder messages. You can enter this customized message here.

_____________________________________________________________

Payment Policies

The Payment Policy displays what a business’s cancellation policies are. To update those:

  1. From Settings, click on the "Policies" tile

  2. Select the "Payment Policies" tile

  3. Enter or update your specific policies and save your changes!

The policies available to customize are:

No-Show Policy

This displays to clients when you have the Hold with a Credit Card feature enabled. This alerts them to the amount of your business’s cancellation or no-show fee.

The default message is: “By booking, you authorize this business to charge your credit card a no-show fee of up to 100% of the scheduled value should you miss your visit without proper notification.”

Refund and Return Policy

This displays to clients when you have payment requirements for your services. It will show both online when they schedule as well as in the notification emails that go out to clients when they book online.

The default message is: "All of our packages, auto-pays, and gift certificates are not transferable to other clients and cannot be combined with other discounted offers. Also, we do not offer cash refunds for our packages, auto-pays, or gift certificates. However, we will honor an equal exchange (credit) for other services within our facilities."


What's Next?

Did this answer your question?